when I wake up

Thanks to Nico Hudak for this collaboration with us at the Refugio

wonderful machine Hi, I am @nicohudak, posting from the Sharehouse Refugio, a unique project that provides shelter for #refugees in #Berlin#Germany. More than a million #migrantsarrived in Germany last year, around 80.000 of them are in Berlin. Most refugees here are from #Syria – fleeing #war and persecution. This series profiles members of the community at the Refugio. I asked all of them to complete the sentence: “When I wake up…” –

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 00.01.21

Ajmal, 20, from Ghazni, Afghanistan met Cathrin, 23, from England at one of the first refugee camps he stayed at where she was a volunteer. “It feels like being here at this point in time has woken us up to a lot of things. It has changed who we are. What matters most in life is that we help each other and give what we can give. The two of us grew up thousands of miles apart under completely different circumstances.

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 00.06.31

Fatuma, 26, #Somalia: “Sometimes I don’t want to wake up. I have to force myself to keep moving, otherwise, there would be no difference between the soil and me. I envision a united world where everybody is cared for equally. Believing that it can come true allows me to wake up in the morning.”

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 00.09.17

Mahamud, 24, Elbur, #Somalia: “Every morning I wake up at four so I can get to my job driving a forklift on time. I think of my mother who – when I was a child – would gently wake me with a touch of her hand and whisper: ‘It’s time for morning prayer’. Then I had family all around me, now I have no one.”

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 00.09.56

Malakeh, 30, and Mohammed, 34, from #Damascus, Syria: “When we wake up we dream that we actually wake up in our real bed at home. We imagine that we have a life again. Maybe some day…!”

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 00.10.37

Eyad, 28, from #Homs, Syria: “When I wake up, I check my mobile phone for what is happening in Syria. Most mornings I get bad news. I hope one day I will wake up, look at my phone and think: Oh my God, the war is over!”

Leave a Reply

