Rooftop und höher!

Im Refugio mit Herz und Seele dabei.

Screen Shot 2016-03-13 at 10.30.00

Lena Krauthäuser

Refugio Barista
Drink of choice: Cold Brew
‘I’ve always wanted to work in a café and Refugio has given me this opportunity. And why not, we should always follow what we love to do. In these past three- four months I’ve learnt more than I ever had through the school system. Now I am able to work on something that I am passionate about. A café is more than a place to sit and drink; it is a bubble from the outside reality. It is a sanctuary to enjoy and relax, share ideas and drink good coffee. We are striving towards making Refugio the perfect bubble here in Neukölln.

Screen Shot 2016-03-13 at 10.22.56

Bashar Albdewi
Cook/Part-Time Barista
Bashar has been with the team from the very beginning and is an integral piece in the Refugio team. Each week he cooks and provides fresh, delicious and organic soups for customers to enjoy.
‘I arrived in the Sharehaus last July before Refugio Café was open for trade. It has been interesting to watch the space grow with every passing month. The beautiful thing about Refugio is that at its core it is essentially about sharing and contributing in whatever way we can. I guess it was natural for me then to extend my passion for cooking into the café, which has allowed me to provide fresh and organic soups for the customers. I enjoy being able to share my traditional Syrian recipes and culture all through a hearty bowl of soup. Though at the end of the day it is more than just cooking, it is about working alongside a great team of people. I’ve learned a lot through this opportunity, everything from the management of a small business to working alongside people of different nationalities and background. It has been an adventure. But keep your eyes open for this space, we are hoping to introduce a brunch menu in the near future!’

Screen Shot 2016-03-13 at 10.30.20

Hélène Elisa
Refugio Barista & Gastronomy expert
Drink of Choice: Soya Cappuccino
“Refugio is an entirely new and exciting venture, and something I am proud to be a part of. It is a new experience for all of us involved and we each have the opportunity to bring something special to the table. Working alongside volunteers from different cultures and countries is something I love. We each have such varied and diverse skill sets that we contribute to the café. I am passionate about gastronomy. I am working with the team to ensure all our food is fair-trade, bio and vegan friendly. After all this fits in with Refugio’s conscious message.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

